peal's heals – a swtor blog


i’m level 11 and muckin up your queue

In an attempt to fight the problem we have with 6-8 people wanting to queue and dealing with how we split up our parties, how we stagger the queues (which ends up being time consuming, less games for one team), or if we’ll fight against each other, well, we thought we’d all roll lowbies so we could get a group of 50′s playing and a group of lowbies and it’d all be good.

Except we’re all kind of in love with our lowbies so we’re stuck with the same problem: 6-8 wanting to run together.

I made a sorcerer to heal. Of course I did. I love them. I miss my sorcerer. And the lowbie queue is really fun. It’s average faster queue times, and for some reason crushing losses are funnier when you’re level 11 with only 1 heal than when you’re 50 and still 2k points from your next War Hero upgrade.

We do experience crushing losses. When four of us level 11-12s join and the highest level person is 33 on our team, well, we realize we’ve kinda gimped everyone. But I don’t care, it’s still fun. It’s not all losses, and sometimes even at level 11 you can lead the scoreboard (in places like Voidstar where everyone can get face time) and still feel like you did good things.

I’ve even scored in Huttball. And here I thought I wouldn’t get the chance to score till I had Force Speed. Can’t wait for that, btw, and bubble, and Innervate… The nice thing about leveling this way is there’s so much to look forward to. I think most of us will do class quests but mostly focus on leveling PvP. And this time? Dark side all the way.

Seriously, though. BioWare, we need 8-man queues. Right away. We can’t be the only guild that’s suffering with this awkward size thing. Oh, and I’ve had a ticket open since 4/21 that no one has touched. Some customer service would GREAT.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

CS…./sigh

Sounds like you have a really good guild, and are blessed with a lot of people being at the same stage(s) of play. My guild has a variety of levels. Some folks haven’t capped because of limited playtime (sometimes combined with altoholism), some are leveling alts and have 1-4 50′s, and we have a recent batch of first 50′s this last 2 weeks. Our pvp drive is low though, outside of a 50 merc who enjoys it, and a guy giving it his first go while leveling his first alt, and one other 50 who’s always up for anything but does pvp 80% of the time. And me who has to be in the mood for it, which I’m usually not on my PT tank, and sometimes am on my healing scoundrel.

I can vouch for the renewed fun you get in pre50 pvp. I’ve got some low level toons on a rp-pvp server that I only pvp with. While missing some skills hurts, the bolster does a really effective job and is one of the best features of tor.

Out of curiosity, how busy would you say your server is? During prime time, we usually have 80-140 on the imp station, and 40-80 on the rep side. For the most part queue’s pop fairly quickly.

Comment by mooftak

I can’t say for Pub side, but we run between 80-200 people on Fleet. Queues are usually good till around 11, then drop off sharply to about one game running. I don’t know if that makes us busy – we have no night crowd so if you can’t run PvP during the day or in the evening, there’s not much to do late-night.

Comment by barb

Oh! I forgot to mention how much I love the bolster effect, too. It is brilliant. Sure, being real-low-level keeps you from some core abilities but you can still participate meaningfully. And because 10-49s are all together, it means the queue times are much better than they would be if there were brackets. Really, really pleased with this feature. :)

Comment by barb




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

